About R&D Topics

The RACI Research and Development Topics conference was founded in 1992 by Professor Neil W. Barnett of Deakin University. Based initially on the Analytical Research Forum run by the Royal Society of Chemistry in the UK, RACI R&D Topics was first held in 1993 at Deakin. It has since grown to include sixteen universities from across Australia, attracting in excess of 100 delegates annually.

RACI R&D Topics conference is organised primarily by postgraduate students of the hosting university. It is focused on giving postgraduate students the opportunity to share their research with a national audience of students and academics. For many students, this is their first opportunity to network with academics and students from around the country in a research-oriented environment.

We invite Honours, MSc and PhD students, and young scientists from government/industry (up to 4 years post BSc. or equivalent degree), to submit oral presentations and/or poster presentations. We also invite postdoctoral fellows (up to 3 years post PhD) to submit poster presentations. We welcome all supervisors and other researchers that wish to attend the conference to hear the latest research and innovation from the next generation of scientists in analytical and environmental chemistry in Australia, in addition to guest lectures from invited speakers and the recipients of the three medals awarded annually by the RACI Analytical and Environmental Chemistry Division as well as trade displays from industry sponsors.

In its 27th year the RACI R&D Topics conference continues to showcase the current and developing research of Australia’s newest scientific minds in Adelaide, South Australia.



Year    Venue

2019    Flinders University, South Australia

2018    University of Canberra, ACT

2017    University of Tasmania, Tasmania

2016    Western Sydney University, New South Wales

2015    University of Melbourne, Victoria

2014    Flinders University, South Australia

2013    Australian National University, ACT

2012    Deakin University, Victoria 

2011     La Trobe University, Victoria

2010    University of Tasmania, Tasmania

2009   Griffith University, Queensland

2008   Macquarie University, New South Wales 

2007    Flinders University, South Australia 

2006    University of Wollongong, New South Wales

2005    Monash University, Victoria 

2004    University of Melbourne, Victoria 

2003    University of Western Sydney, New South Wales

2002    Deakin University, Victoria

2001     RMIT, Victoria

2000    Charles Sturt University, New South Wales

1999     UNSW, New South Wales

1998     University of Tasmania, Tasmania 

1997     Deakin University, Victoria 

1996     RMIT, Victoria

1995    University of Newcastle, New South Wales

1994    University of Canberra, ACT

1993    Deakin University, Victoria