University of Tasmania

The conference venue is University of Tasmania, Sandy Bay Campus, Churchill Ave, Hobart, TAS 7005. We are number 17 on the map below


The University of Tasmania (UTAS) is a public research university officially founded in 1890, it was the fourth university to be established in Australia, and remains the oldest form of higher education in the country. The University of Tasmania is a sandstone university and is a member of the international Association of Commonwealth Universities and the Association of Southeast Asian Institutions of Higher Learning.

The University's national and international reputation is reflected by its top-10 standing as a recipient of research funding in Australia, and reaffirms its place in the top 2 percent of research institutions in the world. The University is ranked 305th according to the Academic Ranking of World Universities in 2015.

The University's research strengths take advantage of these capabilities and Tasmania's unique characteristics, including its natural environment and geographical location. They lie in the thematic areas of Environment, Resources and Sustainability; Creativity, Culture and Society; Health; Marine, Antarctic and Maritime; and Data, Knowledge and Decision-making.

Sandy Bay campus is set on 100 hectares of land in the suburb of Sandy Bay – about 35 minutes walk from the centre of Hobart. The Sandy Bay campus overlooks the estuary of the River Derwent and has the majestic Mount Wellington as its backdrop. Much of the upper campus is in natural bush land. About 10,000 students are enrolled at the southern campuses.